Perspectives from experimental Gravitational Wave physics

Hello all and welcome to the topic on Gravitational Wave physics! The idea is to have a space for discussion about gravitational waves, the people working in the field, and ways you all can be part of the effort to make a new kind of astronomy.

The idea is to get some introductions and get to know each other a little more before and after we talk on Tuesday Dec 5th.

I’ll go first: My name is Edgard Bonilla, I grew up in some remote town in Venezuela and have moved quite a bit to get here. Nowadays I am a postdoctoral researcher at Stanford University working to support the mechanical isolation for the LIGO detectors. I wear many (metaphorical) hats: I do theoretical and experimental work and whatever else is needed to ensure the detectors work as intended (electromechanics, cryogenics, earthquake early warning, vacuum hardware, and more). I have a few hobbies, but the memorable three are walking long distances, cooking, and videogames.

Excited to meet you all soon!

1 Like

Thank you again for such a great and informative presentation! I have a few questions, and if you are able to answer them, I would be most appreciative.

• What would the impacts of quantum optics be on LIGO measurements?
  • What kind of data is returned by these detectors, and how is that data analyzed?
  • Is the possible existence of graviton disproved by gravitational waves? Is there a framework to tie these two things together?
  • What would happen if there were two major collisions happening at the same time? Does LIGO have the ability to make these kind of distinctions?
  • Is the study of the gravitational wave memory effect currently something that LIGO is used for?
1 Like