Building a database backed website

I am building a database backed website through GitHub codespace and I am very new to it. I am trying to make changes to the main code (app.py) to add the database tables. When I try to run the website application on a local server the website does not render and gives me an error. The code is available at: GitHub - chirag167/leveldensities: Website for level density data.

I would appreciate it if I could get any insights in this matter.

1 Like

I did the development on codespaces and I got an error at first too, but it still rendered the main structure of the website.

When you run locally you don’t see anything at all? What operating system / environment are you using?

No, not exactly. When I tried to run the code again today, the website rendered but I get a bunch of callback errors. I have attached a screenshot of the error below.

Also I am using a Mac OS (Ventura 13.3).

Ok great! Is your github up-to-date? You can add me to the repo if you’d like to avoid doing pull requests – username is kylegodbey

Okay. I have sent you an invite to become a collaborator on the repo.

Try to 1) set the flask port to public:

and then 2) restart the app.py:

That is how I had mine setup while I am running in the codespace and I get the following:

I made the port public and re ran the application. Initially it wasn’t able to find the file in line 76 (Arranged_data.xlsx) and that was giving me errors. However, when I uploaded the Excel file, it wasn’t able to render it in Codespace because it is either binary or uses an unsupported text encoding. I ignored that warning and ran the application. On the website I am getting a call back error saying that I need to install openpyxl. I am not sure if I can get around without the installation because I was hoping that Pandas would read the Excel file for me.

Also, I uploaded a folder of a data set for testing (26_56) and I have changed the label neutron number (N) with mass number (A).