2024 FRIB-TA Summer School

Welcome to the 2024 FRIB-TA summer school forum! We thought it would be nice to have a casual space for preschool introductions to help everyone in getting to know each other.

My name is Grigor Sargsyan and I am an FRIB Theory Fellow studying microscopic optical potentials and structure of atomic nuclei using ab initio methods. I did my undergrad in Armenia before coming to the U.S. for grad school in 2015. I got my PhD in 2021 from Louisiana State University and was a postdoc at Lawrence Livermore National Lab before joining FRIB in 2023. I like rock climbing and hiking, and before a couple of years ago, I used to watch a lot of anime. So, chances are I still might know your favorite anime characters :ninja: :fist_right: :fish_cake:

I am looking forward to meeting all of you!

BTW, this platform is hosted by FRIB researchers. Kudos to Kyle Godbey for creating it.

3 Likes

Hi everyone! Iā€™m Erin Good and Iā€™m currently a physicist at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory in Richland, WA (this is the desert and not the pine tree rainy part of Washington youā€™re thinking of. Iā€™m currently working on research and nuclear data measurements for nuclear forensics. I did my PhD at Louisiana State University (which is where I met Grigor as an office neighbor) working on the split-pole spectrograph at Florida State and nuclear astrophysics measurements. Then I did a postdoc at FRIB with Artemis Spyrou doing beta-Oslo things with the SuN detector. Iā€™m into gardening, cooking, and reading, so hit me up with book recs! Looking forward to meeting everyone :slightly_smiling_face:

3 Likes